Skip to main content

Herbert Hoover Middle School Media Center: Online Resources

PASSWORDS, PLEASE!

 

 

Our password list is only accessible to students and staff with an MCPSMD.NET account. Click on the picture to access the list. Parents, please email Mrs. Kim for a copy.

GENERAL REFERENCE

Our go-to encyclopedia features three different reading levels.  Use THIS TUTORIAL to ensure you're getting the most out of all its features!

 

Database of articles covering all subjects and time periods.  Best for advanced readers.

 

Articles from magazines, books, newspapers, and academic journals on over 500 topics.

 

Kids Infobits includes articles, images and videos about Animals, Arts, Geography, Health, Literature, People, Social Studies, Technology, and more.

 

Reference information in videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.

 

Searchable news article database for advanced researchers.

 

Covers today's social issues by providing pro-con articles, primary sources, biographies, court cases, and profiles of organizations.

 

Current news articles at mulitple Lexile levels.  Includes quizzes, prompts, and annotation tools.

 

Articles database on current issues, for upper elementary and middle school research.

 

Articles database on current issues, for middle and high school research.

 

General encyclopedia for varied reading levels; videos and related web links, atlas and dictionary. Includes World Book Kids and World Book Student.

SOCIAL STUDIES

Primary source speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, and multimedia.

 

Country reports that deliver a perspective on daily life and culture.  Engaging and clear comparison tools.

 

FactCite: American History, Defining Moments in US History, and Countries & Culture.

 

Magazine, journal, news articles and primary source documents. 

 

Promote understanding of cultures throughout history.

Interactive timelines that covers world events and historical figures. 

Provides coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s.

WORLD LANGUAGES

Personalized language learning for over 70 languages.  Login with your MCPSMD.NET account!

 

Includes Britannica Escolar and Enciclopedia Moderna.

 

News and article database for French language students.

 

 

 

Spanish-language database includes videos, articles and a visual dictionary.

Access to more than 38,000 French articles including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems of our times.

 

PRIMARY SOURCES

Includes interviews, radio programs, speeches, and other content from significant historical moments.

 

Access to millions of historic American newspaper pages.

 

Artifacts and documents from all Smithsonian museums and collections.

 

Artifacts and documents from across the globe.

 

ENGLISH

FactCite:  Shapers of Society, World Biography, and Sports Champions.

 

http://www.onemorestory.com/img/teachingbooks.gif

TeachingBooks has author interviews, book summaries and other information about books and authors.

 

Read-to and read-along picture books, chapter books, and other elementary-level texts.

 

SCIENCE, HEALTH, & TECH

Scienceflix includes videos, articles, images, and  eBooks on a variety of science topics.

Interactive content that explores inventions and discoveries that continues to shape our society.

Examines environmental issues and green living practices. 

MULTIMEDIA RESOURCES

Gallery of thousands of free-use images.

 

Use your MCPSMD.NET account to access.

 

E-BOOKS

Fiction, non-fiction, audio read-to, and text features.

 

Several science and social studies e-books covering topics such as medicine, history, environment and more.

Hundreds of e-books and audiobooks.  

 

Chat with a Librarian

AUN_logo3.jpg

Ask Us Now!  let’s you ask an online  librarian questions about research and get help in using websites and online resources.

 

Updated by HHMS Staff 2019